My newest obsession

I’m the type of person that gets completely and fully involved in something. I live for my new hobby/activity. It’s all I can think about for days, even months, on end. And then as suddenly as it appeared in my mind…it’s gone. Some of these obsessions last longer than others. Some of them even manage to hold a special place in my heart after the heat of my passion has passed. Others of them are gone, never to be thought of again. Or become one of those memories I think back on fondly and chuckle about.

One of those obsessions that burned a quick, hot flame, never to be thought of again was crocheting. My sister-in-law taught me to crochet one cold winter’s day when the idea of making a blanket seemed the most appealing thing I’d ever heard of. Oh I loved the busy way my hands were occupied by that little needle and the soft silky yarn. All I could think about was crocheting. Whenever my hands were free and my ADHD was kicking in I would long for my lopsided, poorly planned, oddly shaped little blanket. That lasted for about a month before I became frustrated with my ineptitude and shoved that tiny, impractical little blanket in the end table in the living room where it still resides today. I vowed to choose my hobbies more wisely from that day forward. And to some extent I have. However, to make a long story short (yeah right!) my newest obsession is cooking.

It amuses me somewhat that my current love is cooking. I’m currently in the middle of losing a fairly significant amount of weight. But as I quickly realized, it’s no fun trying to lose weight if you can’t find tasty things to eat along the way. Sometimes my new recipes are healthy…sometimes they aren’t. Either way I have learned to love, love, LOVE cooking.

My favorite thing about cooking is making it my own. Anyone can find a recipe and follow the directions. I like to read 20 different recipes for the same dish, compare them, tweak them and come up with my own version including a little from several of them and a little bit of me mixed in there too.

Last night was no exception. I’d been craving some delicious mexican food and decided with my lazy Sunday I would attempt something I had never thought to try before…ENCHILADAS! But here was the thing…I don’t really love enchiladas. The tomato sauce isn’t my favorite thing in the world. But I was bound and determined to try something new. In my research I found a wonderful, amazing thing! WHITE enchiladas! No tomato sauce! Only creamy dairy filled deliciousness. Oh my, my day was looking good. So after about 3 hours more of research, 20 recipes and a pinch of my own craziness I created the following masterpiece:

White Shredded Chicken Enchiladas
Ingredients:

3 -4 chicken breasts
1 small onion
1 bay leaf
Fresh or dried oregano
3 cups chicken broth
16 – 20 tortilla shells (I used white corn)
2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese (or Mexican blend)
3 Tbsp. flour
3 Tbsp. butter
Chili powder
Cumin powder
1 cup light sour cream
1 (4oz) can diced green chilies
Directions:
Preheat the oven to 275 degrees F.
1. Wrap corn tortillas in foil and warm in the oven.
2. Bring broth to a boil in a saute pan.
3. Set chicken into broth with bay and oregano and half the onion (quartered). Return to a boil, cover and reduce heat to simmer. Poach chicken in broth 10 minutes (or until no longer pink in middle – do not over cook!).
4. Remove chicken breasts to a bowl and shred with 2 forks.
5. Dice the other half of the onion
Turn oven up to 425
6. Mix chicken and 1 cup cheese, the diced onion and some chili powder and cumin (to taste)
7. Roll up in tortillas and place in pan. (I lightly sprayed the bottom of the pan so they wouldn’t stick at all)
8. In a sauce pan, melt butter, stir in flour and cook 1 minute. Add broth (2 cups left over from cooking the chicken) and whisk until smooth. Heat over medium heat until thick and bubbly.
9. Stir in sour cream and chilies. Do not bring to boil, you don’t want curdled sour cream.
10. Pour over enchiladas and top with remaining cheese.
11. Bake 20 minutes or until cheese is melted and golden brown.

It was a huge success!!

Leave a Reply

